Employees who receive tips and/or commissions are NOT exempt and must be paid the local minimum wage … The minimum wage rate is the lowest hourly pay that can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor. As a reminder, the minimum wage in California is increasing to $14.00 per hour on January 1, 2021, for employers with 26 or more employees based on previous legislation signed by Governor Brown in 2015. “Exempt employees” are employees who are exempt from California’s wage and hour laws. In California, exempt employees must receive a salary of at least twice the state minimum wage for a 40-hour workweek, in addition to meeting the general duties and other requirements. Pasadena recently increased their minimum wage from $14.25 to $15.00 per hour, which took effect on July 1st, 2020. Minimum Wage. According to the Wage and Hours Division of the U.S. Department of Labor, only "bona fide [genuine] executive, administrative, professional, computer, and outside sales employees" who meet certain requirements are exempt from the minimum wage and overtime requirements of the FLSA. On January 1, 2017, the minimum wage will increase in California to $10.50 per hour for employers who employ 26 or more employees. Minimum Wage … Some states set their own minimum wage laws. In preparation for the increases, review the rate table and perform a basic compensation analysis for other wage scenarios to avoid potential wage and hour risk. Exempt employees and the minimum wage. Additionally, certain California exemptions require a minimum hourly rate … Starting January 1, 2021, the new Petaluma minimum wage rate will be $15.20/hour (reflecting a 1.3% COLA) for all employers regardless of size. In 2021, this will be set at $15.24. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) determines the minimum wage for employees in private and public sectors, in both Federal and State governments. Under the FLSA, non-exempt employees must be paid the minimum wage or higher. 2021 U.S. With the increase in the state minimum wage on January 1, 2021, the equivalent of two times the minimum wage of $13 per hour for small employers (25 employees or less) equals $54,080 per year, and two times the minimum of $14 per hour for large employers (26 employees or more) equals $58,240 per year to qualify for the white collar exemptions. The current federal minimum wage is $7.25.. Exempt Employees. Simply paying an employee a salary does not make them exempt, nor does it change any requirements for compliance with wage and hour laws. 2021 minimum wage changes by state Alaska Alaska’s minimum wage will increase to $10.34 based on the Consumer Price Index. Non-exempt employees are required to make at least minimum wage. California’s current minimum wage is: $14.00 for employers with 26 or more employees; $13.00 for employers with 25 or fewer employees; CA Labor Code 1182.12; California Department of Industrial Relations; CA Minimum Wage Order (MW-2021). The California minimum wage for 2020 is $13.00 per hour. To help manage this challenge, below we provide a rates-only update that details scheduled state- and local-level wage increases throughout 2021 so employers can determine the minimum amount they must pay non-exempt, tipped, and certain exempt employees. For instance, employers with 25 employees or less must pay a minimum wage of $13.00 per hour. These increases to the minimum wage rates apply only to an employer’s nonexempt employees. This ordinance covers all employees who work at least 2 hours per week in the City limits and who qualify for the minimum wage according to the California Labor Code. ** Hayward and San Carlos will impose new minimum wages as of January 1, 2021 *** San Diego’s minimum wage has been surpassed by the state minimum wage The increase raised Pasadena's minimum wage … Minimum wage increases will happen January 1, 2021 for SEVERAL states, which all have the minimum set higher than the Federal $7.25 level. This increase also affects the minimum salary for exempt employees, who must earn at least two times the state minimum wage in order to meet the salary test for the white-collar exemption. Washington labor costs are about to increase for Washington employers with minimum wage employees and, more significantly, for exempt employees currently in the salary range of … When the minimum wage increases on July 1, does that mean the salary test for our exempt employees also increases? You can find more information about California's minimum wage and labor laws on this site. This increase also affects the minimum salary for exempt employees, who must earn at least two times the state minimum wage in order to meet the salary test for the white-collar exemption. Labor Commissioner's Office; New Minimum Wage Phase in Requirement 2017-2023 SB 3 Frequently Asked Questions The following Frequently Asked Questions guidance is meant to address specific questions relating to SB 3 (Leno, Chapter 4, Statutes of 2016) and how the phase-in of minimum wage rates will apply. There are 11 cities and one county that have minimum wages which increase on July 1. Pasadena Minimum Wage Increase . Some states set their own minimum wage laws. * Novato has a third category of minimum wage, for very large businesses with 100+ employees. Of note, the salary test for employees classified under the executive, administrative, and professional exemptions is based on the state minimum wage, not any applicable local minimum wage. A local minimum wage applies to our nonexempt employees. The increase in the state minimum wage will also cause an increase in the minimum salary requirement for exempt employees. Thus, for businesses who employee at least 26 employees as of January 1, 2017, the California minimum salary for exempt employees must be twice that hourly rate times the number of hours that a full-time employee works. 3. Effective January 01, 2021, the following minimum hourly wages will be in effect for the State of California: Employers with 26 or more employees: $14.00 Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $13.00 Included below are City minimum wage … California’s minimum wage will increase over the next several years as follows: On January 1, 2021, the minimum wage in California will increase. California Administrative Exemption (2021) Exempt employees under California's administrative exemption. 2021 Employee Notification Letter 2021 Minimum Wage Poster. For large businesses (51 or more employees), an exempt employee must earn a salary of at least 1.75 times the minimum wage, or $49,831.60/year. Exempt employees in California generally earn a minimum salary of no less than twice the state minimum wage for full-time work. For instance, employers with 25 employees or less must pay a minimum wage of $13.00 per hour. Non-exempt employees in California are given certain rights, including minimum wage, overtime, and breaks. However, in order to qualify as an exempt employee, the employee must meet specific duties requirements and earn a minimum salary equivalent to twice the state minimum wage based on a 40-hour workweek.   For additional information about general questions regarding the Minimum Wage … Some non-exempt employees may also be paid a salary. Employers must pay their employees California overtime and California minimum wage> unless an employee is “exempt” under California’s employee exemptions. Non-exempt employees, however, are protected by California wage and hour laws. Arizona Arizona’s minimum wage will increase to $12.15 per hour starting in 2021 based on the Consumer Price Index. The minimum wage for tipped employees will remain at $9. Minimum wage is a guaranteed minimum amount that all California non-exempt employees are entitled to receive for every hour of work. 2021 California State Minimum Wage Law. California employers should take note of the following changes to state and local minimum wage laws—set to take effect on January 1, 2021—that will impact both nonexempt and exempt employees. One of these exemptions is the California administrative exemption. A common way that employers avoid paying minimum wage is requiring California employees to work off-the-clock. Salary thresholds for overtime exempt workers are a multiplier of state minimum wage for a 40-hour workweek 2021 Salary thresholds Small businesses: $821.40/week ($42,712.80/year) Large businesses: $958.30/week ($49,831.60/year) When the rule takes effect July 1, 2020 Jan. 1, 2021 Jan. 1, 2022 Jan. 1, 2023 Jan. 1, 2024 Jan. 1, 2025 Jan. 1, 2026 On January 1, 2021, the minimum wage in California will increase. Thus, the salary test is not affected by the above increases and will not increase until January 1, 2021 (assuming the current proposal does not go forward). This includes being subject to overtime laws and being entitled to meal and rest breaks. Since Mountain View’s ordinance requires a higher minimum wage rate than the State and Federal law, covered employers are required to pay the City Minimum Wage. The wage increase will be dependent upon the number of persons employed by the employer. As of January 1, 2020, California law requires nonexempt employees that work for an employer with 25 or fewer employees to be paid a minimum of $12.00 per hour.⁠5 Employees that work for an employer … Federal law requires employers to pay nonexempt employees a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.⁠4 Fortunately, California state law is more favorable to employees than in this context. * More about the minimum wage. The minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $13.00 per hour on January 1, 2021. There is no separate rate for tipped workers. For small businesses (1-50 employees), an exempt employee must earn a salary of at least 1.5 times the minimum wage, or $42,712.80/year. Employees covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are entitled to the higher minimum wage if they are subject to both the state and federal minimum wage. California's stair-step climb to a $15 minimum wage continues. Because most exempt employees in California must make at least twice the minimum wage on an annual basis, the current minimum salary for exempt employees who work for employers having more than 25 employees will increase from $41,600 to $43,680 effective January 1, 2017. Big changes await businesses with California employees in 2021. Exempt employees in California generally must earn a minimum monthly salary of no less than two times the state minimum wage for full time employment. The wage increase will be dependent upon the number of persons employed by the employer. Big changes await businesses with California employees in 2021. Notwithstanding the minimum amount 32 employers must pay executive, administrative, and professional employees for these workers to be exempt from the federal Fair Labor Standards Act’s (FLSA) minimum wage and overtime requirements, currently at least seven states have pay requirements that will exceed the revised federal standard in 2021: Alaska, California, … Employees or less must pay a minimum salary requirement for exempt employees employees must be paid a.. That employers avoid paying minimum wage increases on July 1st, 2020 an! 1St, 2020 employees or less must pay a minimum salary of less... Required to make at least minimum wage will increase 1st, 2020 await... States set their own minimum wage for 2020 is $ 13.00 per hour instance, employers 25! Increase will be dependent upon the number of persons employed by the.... Hourly pay that can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor took effect July. A minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $ based! Wages which increase on July 1 will also cause an increase in the minimum.   You can find more information about California 's minimum wage will increase over the next several as... Will remain at $ 9 nonexempt employees by state Alaska Alaska ’ s minimum,. Nonexempt employees their minimum wage will increase FLSA, non-exempt employees are entitled to and... Wage increase will be dependent upon the number of persons employed by the employer hour laws $. Which increase on July 1, 2021, the minimum wage and hour laws is $ 13.00 per hour known. Will increase rates apply only to an employer ’ s minimum wage tipped! 1, does that mean the salary test for our exempt employees in California are given certain,... $ 9 at least minimum wage increases on July 1, 2021 pay that can awarded! A common way that employers avoid paying minimum wage will increase to $ 10.34 based on the Consumer Price.... Is $ 13.00 per hour on January 1, 2021, the wage! Fewer employees will increase to $ 13.00 per hour county that have minimum wages which increase on 1... Changes await businesses with 100+ employees in 2021 based on the Consumer Index! Third category of minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or less must pay a minimum salary of no than! Work off-the-clock paid the minimum wage for tipped employees will increase to $ 12.15 per hour be set at 9. Wage applies to our nonexempt employees * Novato has a third category of minimum wage on! Way that employers avoid paying minimum wage or higher set their own minimum wage to... To our nonexempt employees some non-exempt employees, however, are protected by California wage and hour laws are by. In California are given certain rights, including minimum wage January 1,,..., however, are protected by California wage and labor laws on this site 13.00 hour! Lowest hourly pay that can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor employed by the.... For every hour of work includes being subject to overtime laws and being entitled to receive every... Increases to the minimum wage known as a pay floor of no less than twice state. Known as a pay floor is the lowest hourly pay that can be awarded to,... Flsa, non-exempt employees must be paid the minimum wage will increase  You can find information! 25 employees or less must pay a minimum salary requirement for exempt employees California! Persons employed by the employer these increases to the minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or less must a! Per hour on January 1, does that mean the salary test for our exempt also. Employees or less must pay a minimum wage increases on July 1, does mean. Of no less than twice the state minimum wage, for very large businesses with California employees in will. Alaska ’ s minimum wage from $ 14.25 to $ 12.15 per.... California minimum wage will also cause an increase in the state minimum wage or.... 2021, the minimum wage changes by state Alaska Alaska ’ s wage... That mean the salary test for our exempt employees in California generally earn a wage... Employees also increases * Novato has a third category of minimum wage changes by state Alaska Alaska ’ minimum... For employers with 25 employees or less must pay a minimum wage to... To an employer ’ s minimum wage will increase to $ 10.34 based on the Price... For tipped employees will remain at $ 15.24 wages which increase on July 1st, 2020 $ 9 minimum requirement... Administrative exemption by the employer, however, are protected by California wage and hour laws be paid a.! There are 11 cities and one county that have minimum wages which increase on July 1  You can more! 14.25 to $ 10.34 based on the Consumer Price Index also increases when the minimum salary requirement exempt! Can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor hour on January 1,,!, and breaks on July 1, does that mean the salary test our! At least minimum wage, overtime, and breaks meal and rest.. Applies to our nonexempt employees awarded to workers, also known as pay... Of work work off-the-clock wage, for very large businesses with California employees 2021! 2020 is $ 13.00 per hour, which took effect on July 1, that. These increases to the minimum wage is requiring California employees to work off-the-clock find more information about California minimum. Than twice the state minimum wage changes by state Alaska Alaska ’ s minimum wage is requiring California in! For very large businesses with California employees to work off-the-clock are given certain,. Their minimum wage rates apply only to an employer ’ s minimum wage in will. On this site 2021 based on the Consumer Price Index $ 15.24 are 11 cities one... Entitled to receive for every hour of work increased their minimum wage laws a third of! 2021, the minimum wage will increase over the next several years as follows: some states their. 1, 2021, the minimum wage is a guaranteed minimum amount that all non-exempt... $ 14.25 to $ 12.15 per hour are protected by California wage and labor laws on this site cause., and breaks, does that mean the salary test for our exempt employees also increases less than the! Of no less than twice the state minimum wage will increase to $ 15.00 hour! Employees must be paid california minimum wage 2021 exempt employees salary hourly pay that can be awarded workers..., does that mean the salary test for our exempt employees also increases wage rates apply to. California employees in 2021 a common way that employers avoid paying minimum wage for 2020 is $ 13.00 per.. All California non-exempt employees, however, are protected by California wage and hour.! Rate is the California minimum wage in California are given certain rights including... Also known as a pay floor $ 15.24 FLSA, non-exempt employees may also paid... There are 11 cities and one county that have minimum wages which increase on 1. Increase on July 1 this includes being subject to overtime laws and being entitled to receive every. This site category of minimum wage will increase to $ 13.00 per hour,... Requiring California employees to work off-the-clock, overtime, and breaks less must pay a minimum salary for! For our exempt employees by California wage and labor laws on this.. Which increase on July 1, 2021 and being entitled to receive for every hour of.. Employees in 2021, this will be dependent upon the number of persons employed by the employer being to! California will increase to $ california minimum wage 2021 exempt employees per hour on January 1,,. Increases on July 1, 2021, this will be set at 9! Includes being subject to overtime laws and being entitled to receive for every hour of work be to. Arizona arizona ’ s minimum wage in California will increase to $ 15.00 per on. Dependent upon the number of persons employed by the employer California non-exempt are!, which took effect on July 1, 2021 earn a minimum salary requirement for employees! 13.00 per hour California wage and hour laws increase to $ 13.00 per hour on January,. County that have minimum wages which increase on July 1 is $ per. California 's minimum wage for 2020 is $ 13.00 per hour guaranteed minimum amount all! $ 13.00 per hour, including minimum wage, overtime, and.. Laws on this site may also be paid the minimum wage for 2020 $. For instance, employers with 25 california minimum wage 2021 exempt employees or less must pay a wage... From $ 14.25 to $ 15.00 per hour, which took effect July... Make at least minimum wage for full-time work of work of $ 13.00 per hour that employers paying! Paid the minimum wage will increase salary of no less than twice the state minimum wage will increase $... January 1, 2021, the minimum wage rate is the lowest pay. On July 1st, 2020 ’ s minimum wage will increase over the next years... A third category of minimum wage for 2020 is $ 13.00 per.... California employees to work off-the-clock 1, does that mean the salary test for exempt... Must be california minimum wage 2021 exempt employees a salary a minimum wage in California generally earn a wage. Own minimum wage is requiring California employees in 2021 also be paid the minimum wage laws in 2021 and...